About


The Institute of Fiscal Studies and Democracy (IFSD) is a Canadian think-tank sitting at the nexus of public finance and state institutions. 

Fiscal ecosystems include governments, legislatures, the public administration and other key actors and institutions in our political and economic life.  This ecosystem, rooted in hundreds of years of political history and economic development, is composed of an intertwined set of incentives, public and private information and a complex and sometimes opaque set of rules and processes based on constitutional law, legislative law, conventions and struggles for power.  The actors within this system depend on one another as well as the robustness and transparency of information and processes, all underpinned by a society’s standards of accountability.  It is at this dynamic intersection of money and politics that the Institute of Fiscal Studies and Democracy @uOttawa aims to research, advise, engage and teach.

The IFSD has been funded by the Province of Ontario to undertake applied research and student engagement in public finance and its intersection with public administration, politics and public policy.  The IFSD undertakes its work in Canada at all levels of government as well as abroad, leveraging partnerships and key relationships with organizations such as the World Bank, OECD, IMF and US National Governors Association.

IFSD manages a number of specific initiatives to further its mandate:

iVote-jeVote.ca is a campaign, led by uOttawa students and young alum, to foster political engagement among young Canadians.  The campaign aims to shrink the distance between young voters and our political leaders.  All national political parties have been represented on the iVote-jVote.ca stage and the campaign has been privileged to host some of Canada’s leading figures in politics and public policy including: The Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau, Hon. Roy Romanow, Hon. Kathleen Wynne, Hon. Tom Mulcair, Hon. Michael Chong, Dr. David Suzuki, Hon. Stephane Dion, Elizabeth May and Hon. Maryam Monsef among others.

finparl.org is an online publication, data repository and aggregator of the research community focused on public finance and institutions with a specific interest in parliamentary strengthening.  The IFSD’s work in parliamentary strengthen is undertaken in partnership with the World Bank, OECD and IMF.

e-PBO.org is an online collaboration portal, hosted by the IFSD, that supports the World Bank’s Global Network of Parliamentary Budget Officers (GN-PBO).  The portal supports institutional capacity building through eLearning, financial and non-financial data, administrative resources, mentorship, peer knowledge exchange and the development of practice standards for fiscal officials.  The portal incorporates Cisco’s Webex conferencing platform providing a means to extend the GN-PBO’s meeting and workshop agenda by reaching to the working level of the network’s PBOs on four continents.

The IFSD Forum is a platform for research and debate. With expert analysis from Canada and around the world, The Forum’s mission is to provide digestible and publicly accessible events and policy briefs for politicians and their staff, the media, students and the citizenry. An open-source platform, The Forum was conceived in the lead-up to the 2015 federal election with the intention of challenging existing policy ideas and assessing emerging ones. Initially supported by a SSHRC Connection Grant, The IFSD Forum is now an initiative of the Institute of Fiscal Studies and Democracy (IFSD) at the University of Ottawa.
 

Stay up-to-date with the IFSD Forum’s activities by joining our mailing list.

À propos de


L’Institut des finances publiques et de la démocratie (IFPD) est un groupe de réflexion canadien à la croisée des études des finances publiques et des institutions étatiques.

Les écosystèmes financiers incluent les gouvernements, les organes législatifs, l’administration publique et les autres acteurs et institutions clés de notre vie politique et économique. Cet écosystème, enraciné à travers des siècles d’histoire politique et de développement économique, est composé d’un ensemble entremêlé de motivations, de renseignements publics et privés et d’un complexe, et quelquefois opaque, ensemble de règles et processus basés sur le droit constitutionnel, le droit législatif, les conventions et les luttes de pouvoir. Les acteurs à l’intérieur de ce système dépendent les uns des autres aussi bien que de la robustesse et de la transparence des renseignements et des processus, tous étayés par les normes de responsabilité d’une société. C’est à cette intersection dynamique de l’argent et des politiques que l’Institut des finances publiques et de la démocratie de l’université d’Ottawa aspire à rechercher, conseiller, engager et enseigner.

L’IFPD a été fondé par la province de l’Ontario pour entreprendre la recherche appliquée et l’engagement étudiant au carrefour des finances publiques et de l’administration publique, des politiques et de la politique publique. L’IFPD entreprend son travail au Canada au niveau de tous les paliers de gouvernement ainsi qu’à l’étranger, mettant à profit des partenariats et des relations clés avec des organisations telles que la Banque mondiale, l’OCDE, le FMI et la National Governors Association aux États-Unis.

L’IFPD gère un certain nombre d’initiatives pour mener à bien son mandat : 

iVote-jeVote.ca est une campagne, menée par les étudiants et jeunes anciens de l’université d’Ottawa, pour encourager l’engagement politique chez les jeunes Canadiens. Cette campagne vise à réduire la distance entre les jeunes électeurs et nos leaders politiques. Tous les partis politiques nationaux ont été représentés sur la scène de iVote-JeVote.ca et la campagne a eu le privilège d’accueillir certaines des figures de proue des politiques et de la politique publique : le premier ministre Justin Trudeau, l’honorable Roy Romanow, l’honorable Kathleen Wynne, l’honorable Thomas Mulcair, l’honorable Michael Chong, le Dr. David Suzuki, l’honorable Stéphane Dion, Élizabeth May et l’honorable Maryam Monsef entre autres.

finparl.org est une publication en ligne, un référentiel de recherche et une base de données de la communauté de la recherche ciblés sur les finances et les institutions publiques avec un intérêt marqué sur le renforcement parlementaire. Le travail de l’IFPD sur le renforcement parlementaire est entrepris en partenariat avec la Banque mondiale, l’OCDE et le FMI.

e-PBO.org est un portail de collaboration en ligne, hébergé par l’IFPD, qui soutient le Réseau mondial des directeurs parlementaires du budget de la Banque mondiale (GN-PBO).  Le portail soutient la constitution de la capacité institutionnelle à travers  un site d’eLearning, les données financières et non financières, les ressources administratives, le mentorat, un réseau d’échange de connaissances et le développement de normes de pratique pour les agents financiers. Le portail incorpore la plateforme de conférence Webex de Cisco fournissant ainsi un moyen d’étendre l’ordre du jour des rencontres et ateliers du GN-PBO en atteignant le niveau opérationnel du réseau des directeurs parlementaires du budget sur quatre continents.

Le Forum de l’IFPD est une plateforme de recherche et de débat. Avec l’analyse d’experts du Canada et du monde entier, la mission du forum est de fournir des dossiers de politique et des évènements assimilables et publiquement accessibles pour les politiciens et leur personnel, les médias, les étudiants et la population. Telle une  plateforme libre, le forum a été conçu en prévision des élections fédérales de 2015 avec l’intention de mettre au défi les idées politiques existantes et d’évaluer celles qui apparaissent. Soutenu dès l’origine par une subvention du Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines (CRSH), le forum de l’IFPD est maintenant une initiative de l’IFPD de l’université d’Ottawa.

Restez informés des activités du forum de l’IFPD en vous inscrivant sur notre liste de diffusion.