Preparing for the Workshop


We encourage you to review the agency survey as a reference in preparation for the workshop.  At the workshop, IFSD will work with you shoulder-to-shoulder to complete the survey. 

To complete the survey, you will require your agency’s information for the 2017-2018 fiscal year.  Please ensure you have access to information for the following categories during your time in Ottawa for the workshop:

Operations: Information regarding your agency’s ongoing costs of doing business. This includes salaries, benefits, agency legal fees, staff training, travel expenses, and small agency deficits, for example.

Capital: Information regarding the costs of your agency’s fixed assets, including costs of maintenance, repairs and retrofitting of buildings, land, vehicles, and technology equipment (e.g. phones, computers, software).

Protection: Information regarding your agency’s costs for programs associated with placing a child in alternative care outside of the parental home. Examples include purchases on behalf of children in care, per diem costs for children in care in placements out of the parental home (including foster care, group homes, institutional care, and kinship care), post-adoption subsidies and supports, respite care, non-medical services to children in care with behavioral problems and specialized needs.  Your agency’s current number of protection cases, their impetus, number of assigned staff, and related details will also be necessary.

Prevention: Information regarding your agency’s costs for programs designed to reduce the incidence of family dysfunction and breakdown or crisis and to reduce the need to take children into out-of-home care or the amount of time a child remains in out-of-home care. Examples include violence prevention and family support services, mentoring and non-medical counselling services, home management services, land-based and cultural programming, intensive family reunification programs, least disruptive measures, purchase of basic needs items (e.g. security deposit, money for diapers), intake and investigation, transportation and accommodation for medical and non-medical appointments.Your agency’s current number of prevention cases, their impetus, number of assigned staff, and related details will also be necessary.

Governance: Information regarding the costs of your agency’s accountability, transparency and decision-making mechanisms. Examples include Content Management Systems, collecting and analyzing data, audits and evaluations, Band councils, Elder councils, and advisory boards.


A laptop is required to complete the survey (online, using on-site Wifi). Please bring your laptop and laptop charger.

Comment se préparer à l’atelier

Nous vous encourageons à revoir le sondage sur l’agence en tant que référence en préparation à l’atelier. Durant cet atelier, l’IFPD vous épaulera pour compléter ce sondage.

Pour compléter le sondage, vous aurez besoin des renseignements de l’agence pour l’année financière 2017-2018. Assurez-vous d’avoir accès aux renseignements sur les catégories suivantes durant votre séjour à Ottawa pour la participation à l’atelier :

Operations : Renseignements concernant les coûts récurrents des affaires de votre agence. Ceci inclue les salaires, les avantages sociaux, les frais juridiques de l’agence, la formation du personnel, les dépenses de voyages et les petits déficits de l’agence, par exemple.

Capital : Renseignements concernant les coûts des immobilisations de votre agence, y compris les coûts d’entretien, de réparations et de post-équipement des édifices, le terrain, véhicules et équipement technologique (par exemple : téléphones, ordinateurs, logiciels).

Protection : Renseignements concernant les coûts de votre agence pour les programmes associés au placement d’un enfant en protection alternative en dehors du domicile parental. Les exemples incluent les achats au nom de l’enfant pris en charge, les coûts quotidiens pour les enfants placés dans des institutions hors du domicile parental (y compris les familles d’accueil, les foyers collectifs, institutions et la parenté), les subventions post-adoption et les soutiens, les soins de répit, les services non médicaux aux enfants placés ayant des problèmes de comportement et des besoins spécifiques. Le nombre actuel de cas de protection de l’agence, leur essor, le chiffre sur le personnel affecté et les détails reliés seront également nécessaires.

Prévention : Renseignements concernant les coûts de votre agence pour les programmes conçus pour réduire les répercussions des dysfonctionnements familiaux, les ruptures ou les crises et pour réduire le besoin de placer les enfants ou bien le temps qu’un enfant reste placé. Les exemples incluent les services de prévention de la violence et de soutien familial, le mentorat et les services de conseils non médicaux, les services de gestion domestique, la programmation terrestre et culturelle, les programmes intensifs de réunion de famille, les mesures les moins perturbatrices, les achats d’articles pour les besoins essentiels (par exemple le dépôt de garantie, l’argent pour les couches), l’accueil et les enquêtes, le transport et le logement pour les rendez-vous médicaux ou non médicaux. Le nombre actuel de cas de protection de l’agence, leur essor, le chiffre sur le personnel affecté et les détails reliés seront également nécessaires.

Gouvernance : Renseignements concernant les coûts de comptabilité de votre agence, la transparence et les mécanismes de prise de décision. Les exemples comprennent la gestion du contenu, les systèmes, la collecte et l’analyse des données, les vérifications et les évaluations, les conseils de bande, les conseils des aînés et les conseils consultatifs.


Un ordinateur est exigé pour compléter le sondage (en ligne, WIFI pour utilisation sur place). Veuillez apporter votre ordinateur portable et un chargeur.